Wesp32 - ESP32 with Ethernet!

This looks like a neat project to watch out for:

One of the handy things that the ESP8266 + ESP32 have (maybe the other ESP platforms as well) is OTA updates. But they’re all wifi only, which has it’s drawbacks.

That is exactly what I’ve been dreaming of for a few years…

Likewise! PoE 802.3at and 13 watts available at 12v is pretty freaking cool.

Shut up and take my money!

And they’ve released it -> https://www.crowdsupply.com/silicognition/wesp32

I wish they had an ad-hoc version instead of just 802.3…

On the features list:

Support for applying external power to V+, in case PoE is unavailable

You can get breakout fly leads for Passive PoE and power it that way.

Considering the rest of the power features:

Default 12 V output setting for V+ provides 12.95+ W of power
Optional (bridge solder jumper) 5 V output setting for V+ provides 5 W of power
IEEE 802.3at Type 1 Class 0 compliant PoE
3.3 V output with up to 6 W of power (taken from V+)
Support for powering via the wESP32-Prog USB port (limited to 5 V on V+)
Compatible with both PoE Mode A (power over data pairs) and PoE Mode B (power over spare pairs)

Being able to pull nearly 13W @ 12V off the output is pretty darn nice. With an efficient stepdown, that’s almost 30W/6A at 5V!

nope… Watts is Watts.

Amps go up when volts go down, but watts stay the same.

Common error tho… :stuck_out_tongue:

Ahh, yes @Tinker is quite right. I’ll blame my pre-caffeinated brain :wink:

1 Like

Wishing the Wesp32 was a tad cheaper. $40 AUD would be nice, but I understand the reasons why they are still at $55 USD each. I can just wait it out until they drop in price.

I backed this on Crowd Supply because I’ve been doing some ESP32 work for a commercial client (not related to SuperHouse) over the last 12 months, and on their wish-list is PoE with ESP32. It looks like they’ll be shipping soon so I’m keen to see how well they work.