First project: Audio

New member here. I’m doing a new house build and decided I want to get into home automation. I’m a software engineer in the USA so some of the hardware stuff is new to me and I have to deal with what’s available and “up to code”. After researching a bunch of projects (lighting, blinds, etc) I decided to prioritize some basic network-connected multi-room audio since:

1. In doing lighting or anything else I’ll have to deal far more with electricians and building code
  2. My wife loves having some music playing throughout the day (easy to get her buyoff)
  3. Low-risk - If it breaks the house as a whole still functions fine

It also seems like one of the best projects where buying retail vs DIY seems FAR more in the favor of DIY. I’ve got the following plan but I am so inexperienced in this I wanted to see if I could get some feedback on it.

Central Hardware:

Item Price
Pi3 B+ $35
14Awg Speaker Wire $52
PSU $20

(Not Listed: Patch cables, Ethernet Switch, Power Wiring)

Per Room Hardware:

Item Price
Speakers $15
Pi Zero $5
HifiBerry Amp2 (Pi Amp Hat) $50
USB OTG -> RJ45 $14

Estimate (10 nodes): $1000 - As long as the speaker wire is pre-wired I can do it all at once or spread this out over time.

A couple specific questions:

• The amp hats power the pi zeros they are connected to. I assume the PSU should work for multiple nodes. Is the PSU safe and suitable to run say… 10 nodes?