Superhouse, a deeper conversation about the hardware workings

my edits since yesterday

Hi Jon,

Love your superhouse video series. It is extremely well presented and very concise. Your Superhouse setup is amazing. Very impressive. I was hoping to start a conversation here to pick your brain further.

I am involved with a new build for a Victorian based house which is scheduled to be finished in the next 12 months. Which I am interested in setting up in a similar fashion to Superhouse. I have some background with electronics and Arduino, and openhab and mqtt look very simple in regards to logic workings. I am a novice with Home automation though. So the main gist of my queries is related more to the hardware setups.

So I will probably rant abit my understandings of how you have things setup and interlace some questions throughout, which I am trying to decipher. If you don’t mind of course…

So I understand the Distribution Board setup you have, in a broad sense. That being the centralised Star wiring schema for the load devices.

1. I believe that is referred to as the LV lines? Over 50 vac but under 1000vac is low voltage, which is where the 240v lands.

I get how they are activated at the 12v side via the ethermega however. Ahh episode 24 about 9 mins, (no longer lunchbox) this then connects DIN–Ethermega(lunchbox mega)–Signal(pulls 5v to ground)–MQTT–Openhab and giving you the network controlled publishes and subscribes. I think… I need to review that some more. AHH lunchbox is shiny now and exits simply via Cat5/6 to to patch panel.

You have those devices going into the din relays, what are the other options here?

1. Why are they dipole? I need to look into single and dipole relays, that is over my head currently, I guess I don’t understand the need to loop the active and neutral?

2. Do those relays allow you to dim/ramp the light intensity? I assume so, but it wasn’t clear in your videos.