My home automation

Hello everyone,

I’m from the french speaking side of Belgium and I work as an Automation Engineer.

My love and I are projecting the renovation of a building and of course i’m going to put as much intelligence in the construction as possible.

What you should know about me is that i’m a supporter of the FSF https://www.fsf.org/, basically this means:

• The freedom to run the program as you wish, for any purpose (freedom 0).
  • The freedom to study how the program works, and change it so it does your computing as you wish (freedom 1). Access to the source code is a precondition for this.
  • The freedom to redistribute copies so you can help others (freedom 2).
  • The freedom to distribute copies of your modified versions to others (freedom 3). By doing this you can give the whole community a chance to benefit from your changes. Access to the source code is a precondition for this.
    Of course, this not only apply for the software, but also for the hardware.

But there is one problem with all that, is that I’m gonna have to go through proprietary and nonfree stuff before having a total free house.
By free understand freedom and not as no cost.

What i’m planning to do, is to have multiple phases for the automation side, what I mean by that is:

• Phase 1:Use an industrial PLC as brain, all the input and output are going through him. The first phase is really “simple” and is going to give us a functional house and leave me time to prepare the next phase while living in it.

• Phase 2:Remove the proprietary PLC and use (create?) an free PLC.

You may ask why I use a proprietary PLC and then remove it? The answer is simple, is because I have them easily and I manipulate them everyday, so I know how to making them do the work without have a long test period.